One Piece 815: Luffy wants to be king of the Wedding Crashers

One Piece 815

Welcome back to another week of One Piece reviews! Today we are reviewing a chapter where Luffy secretly wants to be a wedding crasher! Also the adults can’t stay up past 9 to make sure two samurais come in and mess everything off.

Positives:

One of the things I love about One Piece is the innocence of the main character in a world where not everything is so innocent, and even after everything he’s been through he still silly and stupid, and provides humor in the series. Sanji’s going to get married, has to go after being threatened to have his love ones killed. Yet Luffy finds the simplest and purest answers to solve all their problems. By joining his crew.  Right when you think Luffy doesn’t know the circumstances of his actions he then proceeds to volunteer to go by himself to go save Sanji, and make sure his crew stays safe. Luffy’s a good leader no matter how dumb he is sometimes. Another thing I like about the chapter was the SH’s interactions. The series is at it’s best when the SH’s are together. Luffy’s and Zoro’s interaction had me rolling. I was laughing even harder when Nekomumashi crashed, ends up bleeding all over the place with Chopper freaking out, Luffy dancing on Neko, and Zoro threatening to kill him. One Piece humor has been on point the past couple of weeks.  Seeing Luffy and Law talk to each other as equals is always appealing for the future Roger, and Whitebeard! Plus there is actual tension in the arc now with the Samurai’s coming in because on top of everything else, we now have a new problem arise! The information on the first page of the chapter gets me hyped as all hell. Germa 66 sounds like a brilliant new fraction in the One Piece world. Are these 66 powerful assassins? Also mad hype for Sanji’s dad, do you guys believe he’s a powerful fighter? And if you do, what about his Brothers?

Negatives:

This chapter didn’t have much, but a few quips. While Impel Down, and Marineford were good arcs for the series. I’m not down for another Luffy solo arc. I want the SH’s to stick together because the series is better when it is about them. I understand I this point in the series the story is crowded, but doesn’t mean we have to neglect our favorite pirate crew! Please Oda at the very lease, split it up, but with Brooke, Chopper, and Nami. I feel that Law’s crew is very underwhelming, I was hoping that they would be much better looking in design for an important pirate captain as Law. Hoping that in the upcoming chapters I’m proven wrong, but at the end of the day the SH’s are more unique than most pirates. The last but not least plot really ruined the awesomeness of this chapter at the end with the “Adults” failing to do something they set out to do. You’re telling me not one of them could stay up and have a rotate system? Franky and Brooke I expect to mess up, but Robin? Although, I’m liking that Robin is turning more into a SH as time passes. Let this be a lesson, Three ways after parties aren’t not the best thing to do…..but let’s face it Brooke x Franky x Robin is practically confirmed now. I also wish that they would have probe more into the Germa 66 army that Sanji’s father runs.

All in all I rate this chapter 8/10. I’m very much liking the way One Piece is going, and I think the series is going on the right path, and not the muddy way it was going in Dressrosa. Next week I predict Luffy learns what Weddings are because something tells me he doesn’t really know. Until next week. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

