One Piece 846: Breaking Promises

one_piece_846

Hey welcome back One Piece fans, this chapter was really worth all the build up we’ve been getting for the past several weeks. We’re getting tension that for a while we haven’t been getting, and I feel that after this week nothing but spectacular chapters will be had because it is nothing but build up to the climax. This chapter we Big Mom literally just breeds fighters, and that broken promises are almost guaranteed in the upcoming chapters. Without further adieu lets review.

Positive: I know I am in the majority when I say this, but Luffy losing was the best thing that could possibly happen to this arc, and series. Luffy has this tendency to really always make through with his promises, and him breaking, and losing this one will really make his character. To learn how he can’t just shout, and say childish things in an hopeless situation. Luffy put his crew endangered and didn’t think about fighting Big Mom’s crew all by himself, while barely surviving and encounter with Cracker. A commander who would have beat him if it wasn’t for help, and he simply can’t always come through on his promises, for it is not realistic in the series standard that we live up too. I also think it is important for Sanji’s development for he knows the damage that his friends are causing, and he can’t trust Big Mom. Which I love Big Mom’s hat, and how it goes along with her emotion every time she moves, and has a slight facial change.

one_piece_846_2

It’s nice to see more information about the poneglyphs, and it’ll be interesting to see how Brooke, and Pedro get one considering they have to overcome the a commander even stronger than Cracker. Smoothie I’m going to guess her powers have to do with blood, and she drinks it like smoothie. Cause for the life of me I can’t understand how to drain the liquid out of someone, and make it smoothie related. Plus a top tier fighter really shouldn’t have a lame power like smoothie. Although, I say that and Cracker’s power is literally just creating biscuits. The final panel, with Brooke, and Pedro is just honestly the greatest thing that has even happened in this arc.  I love the powers, my favorite panel is the one in the header where Luffy get’s walloped. That’s just a good ol’ fashion beatdown honestly.  Monte’Dur’s book power needs to have its own chapters dedicated to it because quite honestly it’s so broken, and amazing that to be wasted on one or two panels is a waste of potential.

Negatives: Is Sanji really being so naive and believing the bargain Big Mom is making with him? I mean seriously Big Mom wants Luffy dead! One of the main reasons she is holding this Tea Party is to kill Luffy, and he thinks she’s just going to let him walk away freely? Even after Luffy waged war against her, and sent her a bomb? Not happening. I also hate that we see Nami’s lightning off-paneled, and we don’t get to see it. I really think that would have been a great moment for her, but we skip it instead to see Luffy getting walloped (which in itself was amazing.)  Sometimes I hate the slow pacing that One Piece has, but would love for it to slow down. A nice chapter dedicated to just this fight would have been nice.

 

Predictions: Next week, I predict Pedro will do some cool spy stuff, and run into Baron Tamago where we leave off with a potential fight, while Luffy meets Big Mom for the first time.

 

I give this chapter 9/10, it was almost perfect, the only thing missing for me was really I wanted to see Jimbei, and when it has been so long since I’ve seen him I tend to go into biased fanboy mode! Until next week!

Leave a comment